Forums are back in action! ×

I have arrived! And I won't be leaving anytime soon!

Good morning all! After lurking for about a week or two and reading as much as I could here on NF (with lots still to go) I signed up a few days ago and have decided to introduce myself. I am progress126 and hail from the lovely Poconos, Pennsylvania (via New Jersey via Ottawa, Canada via San Francisco)! Whew! That was a mouthful!

A little about myself... I'm a 39 year old married male with 5, yup count 'em, 5 boys, aged 4 thru 16. Needless to say, they keep my wife and I busy running from soccer fields to basketball courts to the mall etc. I am also an art director/graphic designer for a small agency in New Jersey.

Back in high school I was a skinny kid who played all sorts of sports. I played volleyball and football as well as ran the 100m hurdles for my high school. I couldn't put on the pounds no matter how hard I tried! Some of you (or maybe none of you) will remember a product called Hot Stuff. (No, not for that!) It was a weight gainer type supplement that had no effect on me at all. I sure did like the banana flavour though!

I did other things as well. I was a bike courier for a summer during college and commuted to work when I had a real job. I mountain biked as well. I did Tae Kwon Do but quit once we moved to the States. I tried running but failed at that.I couldn't seem to run for more than 5 minutes at a time. Even after trying one of those Couch to 5K programs. I just gained more and more weight as the years progressed. I even tried those miracle fat loss pills. Did I lose weight? Sure, but it all came back and I was always quick to lose my temper. P90X? We bought it, Tony Horton brought it and we quit it. Turbo Fire? We bought that too and now that fire has fizzled out.