Forums are back in action! ×

Putting myself out there!

Hello NerdFitness Community!

I'm a 21 year old college student attempting fitness for the first time ever. I am not athletic, intimidated by the gym, and have limited cooking skillz (pasta). I'm a beginner in every possible way :)

Why do I want to do this? Not long ago I was very unhealthy. I got debilitating migraines and was told I had chronic fatigue syndrome my senior year of high school. As a result of having no energy and basically sleeping all the time, I became fairly significantly underweight. I would be lying if I didn't admit this was the hardest time in my life. I couldn't go to school (hard life for a nerd), see my friends, or do anything fun and got pretty depressed. The long recovery process hurt my self esteem a lot, as well.

BUT now, years later, I feel like I'm finally back on my feet again. I've gotten back to a normal weight and have energy for the first time in quite a while :) However I lost a lot of muscle mass and am startlingly weak. I know that my body has the capability to do some amazing things and I'm ready to start achieving them!

Ultimate (Long Term) Goals: Get stronger, better self esteem (believe in myself), learn how to eat/cook healthy meals, and... Run a half marathon!

My main question is, What are some good short term goals to set for myself? Keep in mind that I am probably at the lowest level of fitness. Not overweight by any means, but horribly out of shape. (I had very little energy and was almost completely sedentary for like 3 years). Any help/support is greatly appreciated!

Katie

Welcome! You've joined a really fantastic group. Maybe your first "goal" should be a lifestyle commitment, something along the lines of, "for 6 months I will consciously eat good food every day and exercise 5 times per week".