Forums are back in action! ×

Something Like an Introduction

Greetings, everyone! P'shaw here. (Obviously not my real name, but one I've gone by online for so many years that it might as well be.) Since I'm not going at writing intro posts, I'll just jump in.

I'm a 40yo female currently living in north central Florida. I grew up in east Tennessee where I was never particularly active in sports or things, mostly because I'm not very social and not very competitive. (I'm highly competitive with myself, but not with other people.) Since where I lived was suburban/rural I did do a lot of walking. By the time I was in college I walked everywhere. Long-distance walking was my thing. And since I studied Medieval history, I sometimes like to pretend I was walking one of the old pilgrimage trails in Europe instead of walking to the grocery store for ramen and coffee. I got married straight out of college and wound up in an intensely stressful job managing a public low-income housing development. The site had been neglected for years and the agency was grossly understaffed, so everything felt like an uphill battle. I started going to the gym in the evenings to try to work off the stress and lose weight, but I was mainly doing it because my first husband wanted me to. See that? No internal motivation. In fact, I was more motivated to just change into my comfy workout clothes and go spend an hour at the library.