Forums are back in action! ×

*looks around* *waves* Hello folks!

Hi!

I'm Bruna (though my internet handle has been Arashi for such a long time that I have grown attached to that name as well). I'm new here (doh!) and I'd like to say it's very, very good to be here. I have been browsing the NF site for a few days and signed up for the '3 missions to awesome' emails, and now I joined the forum as well. I'm determined to not be a lurker - I really want to be serious about getting fit and losing weight, and I feel that here I'm surrounded by people who I can relate to.

I used to do gymnastics at middle and high school - though I wasn't a skinny child and teenager, my body was flexible and not bad at all. Then I went to college, and my body improved (being an underpaid, overworked intern has at least one good side), but then I graduated. And didn't find a job for years.

Staying at home with nothing to do wasn't the best thing for my body or mind (though the internet forums helped improve my English, at least). I could have used this time to get fit, but my motivation was inexistent, and when I realized, years had passed and I was 15 kilos heavier. My body didn't feel like my body. It could no longer do cool things. I didn't recognize that girl in the mirror, that girl who lost her breath when she had to climb three flights of stairs.

I tried to 'get fit' sometimes. It always involved a lot of plans, three weeks of walking, and then I was defeated by laziness. And heat. Good God, this city is hot. But mostly laziness.