Forums are back in action! ×

Hello, my fellow Rebels! The name is Tobi (yeah, another nerd joining the ranks) and I have chosen the Ranger class because it represents my ideal level of fitness. I'm a first-year university student residing in Canada and I joined NerdFitness because I grew tired of the confusing "diets" and "recommended" workout routines floating around the Net. My fitness journey started when my skeptical mindset forced me, literally, to discard everything I thought I knew about fitness and health and personally determine for myself what works and what doesn't. I'm a few weeks into my lifestyle change, and I am feeling great about it! I have three goals that I want to achieve and get off my bucket list before the end of 2016: lose 40 pounds, get my first part-time job, and get considered for the position of research assistant with one of my science professors. 

How I got to where I am now

Step one: I developed a workout routine for the next few weeks that involves me switching back and forth between HIIT and bodyweight training. My HIIT workouts are only going to last 20 minutes, and I prefer to do them on my elliptical machine at home. I complete my bodyweight training by primarily choosing the Insanity workouts that specifically train and challenge the muscle groups that I want to train for that day. I am focusing on HIIT for now because I am interested in getting my body to adapt to the demands of high-intensity cardio and training. I will consider adding in lower-impact workouts once I am a few more months in.