Forums are back in action! ×

Any chefs out there?

Hello.  I'm not new to nerd fitness, but I definitely did not stick to it the first go around.  So I'm here, respawning, and trying out the forums for the first time in hopes of some advice and support.  My biggest challenges would be 1) sticking to a program and 2) my job.  I'm a chef for a high end catering company and my job is very demanding.  My schedule is all over the place which makes it hard to stick to a routine.  There are days that I'm working anywhere between 10-16 hours a day during busy season, which is about 8 months out of the year.  Aside from that, I rarely have time to take a lunch break so I either wind up not eating for way too many hours or I snack on whatever I can get my hands on because I'm so starved.  And there are not too many healthy options readily available in fine dining.  It's all about the fats.  I don't have time or energy to make my own lunch at home to bring with me, and I rarely have time to make a healthy lunch at work, even though I would be able to throw something together if there was time.  And then if I do manage to have a decent lunch at work, by the time I get home, after a 12 hour shift of being on my feet all day, plus an hour commute each way, I'm too physically and mentally tired to make even more food for myself and so I wind up getting delivery or fast food a lot and then crashing for what little sleep I can get.  And forget about trying to get a work out in.  I guess I just wanted to know if there are any other chefs on this forum that could relate to this and might have any advice on how to get on the right track and stay there.

I'm not a chef, but I do work as restaurant cook (for the last 20+ years) so I can definitely relate.  How can I help?

B'ker Level 1 Half-elf Ranger  STR: 3  DEX: 3  CON: 3  INT: 3  WIS: 2  CHA: 2

Bker Survives December Challenge Tracking Spreadsheet

Walking to Mordor (2019) Spreadsheet

MyFitnessPal | FitBit | Instagram