Forums are back in action! ×

Young dog, old tricks

Hi all!

I've been at this fitness thing since getting out of high school, and I've done half of everything in the book with shoddy results. Endless cardio sessions, calorie counting, low-carb, blah. I stumbled on NF while surfing paleohacks, and I'm loving how there's a nerd playground to geek about something that's even more weird to geek about than usual. =P

At the moment, I've been 90/10 paleo as of mid-February (surprisingly easy as I'm studying in France right now, though everyone probably wonders why I don't have a baguette with every meal...), and working out 5-6 mornings a week in some shape or form. Started Bodyrock in August, and if it weren't for living in an apartment where sound carries VERY easily, I'd still be doing it. As it is, I make up my own routines with what I've got on hand: bodyweight, a mat, a broom and chairs for bodyweight rows and knee raises, and a backpack with 13kg of flour/birdseed. I also walk at least 15 minutes each way to and from class, 5 days a week, in addition to regular out-and-about walking that comes with living in a small city. So I dunno where I fall on the activity scale, since it seems to be periods of walkwalkwalk interspersed with sitsitsit, and the morning workouts vary in intensity since I'm still unsure whether to go max effort every non-rest day (Bodyrock philosophy) or max effort three days a week and conditioning work with moderate effort in-between, which I've been doing the past couple weeks while lurking on NF.