Forums are back in action! ×

Total Newb Joining the Ranks

Hi! I'm Zophiel (not my real name but close enough for gov't work), from the Maryland DC suburbs. I'm a born geek, raised by a science fiction author at the MD Renn-fest and Balticon (among other local Cons), Sorted into Slytherin and Horned Serpent on Pottermore, and fanfic-addict. I've got a long way to go to be where I want to be, but I've made some good strides on my own, and am hoping the Rebellion and the Academy can help me get farther along the way. So, here's my story:

I was always "heavy"-- but I also went to Junior Olympics 3 times in my youth for fencing, so while I was "heavy", I was still active and generally-healthy. But right after college, I was suddenly diagnosed with Stage 4 Cancer, which took 12 months of chemo every 10 days followed by a solid month of radiation every day. Clearly, I lived through that (yay!) but it really messed up my metabolic system (boo!). And I was generally out of shape from 12 months of not having much energy to do much of anything aside from "Keep Living" and "Keep re-reading Lord of the Rings". I followed the doctor's advise to loose the extra weight which, at the time, was still the low-fat, high-carb diet. Didn't work. At all. And when I only got larger and larger (and larger and larger), instead of considering that the diet was wrong for me, the doctors accused me of "cheating", of not being completely honest with my food logs. Which explains where my unfortunate distrust of doctors came from.

(Bitter? Me? Nooooo . . .) (And I realize this isn't all or even most doctors. I recently found a good general practitioner that I think I'll stick with-- very competent, actually listens to me, etc)