Forums are back in action! ×

Early to Rise?

I know we must have some early risers on this board. I am not one of them, but I believe it is a fantastic lifestyle choice, and fantasize about being one of those go-getters someday. Are you naturally an early riser? Did you train yourself to be? How do you do it? What do you do with those extra hours the rest of us don't have?

"Let another say. 'Perhaps the worst will not happen.' You yourself must say. 'Well, what if it does happen? Let us see who wins!' ".

- Seneca, 63 AD

"There is no better way to fight weakness than with strength." - Henry Rollins

My body rises when it's needed to.

Hard to explain, but after being in the Corps for 5 years, and in combat zones for several years of those five, whenever it's time, my body gets up. After that I was an on call field mechanic, so again, when it was time, body gets up.

If I need to be somewhere or do something at 3 am, my body will rise on its own, or 7 am, doesn't matter. Days that I have nothing else to do, no matter how late I go to sleep, my body default is 6:30.

It's very useful, and if I make plans, my body goes into it, usually use it to go running before the heat gets too bad, and so I can shower before I head up to school (probably to much appreciation to people around me.)

i wake up at 7am every day. Sometimes 6:30. If I'm on vacation, my body wakes up at 6 (go figure). I used to not know that 7am even existed.

I think its just from waking up that early for so long, your body just gets used to it.

I'm no longer an active member here. Please keep in touch:
“There's only one rule that I know of, babies—God damn it, you've got to be kind.”

Cool, Tparker! I read on Marks Daily Apple that people can set their internal clocks like that. Exercising in the morning is the biggest appeal for me. I end up doing it @ 11:00 p.m. half the time.