Forums are back in action! ×

Training every day?

I hit the gym every weekday morning, and was wondering if it was OK to strength train all 5 days as long as I rotate the muscle groups. I.e., quads and "pull" one day then butt/hamstrings and "push" the next day. Is this a bad idea?

I do push/quads, pull/glutes/hams for my schedule. I've been doing this for probably about 8 months now, and would definitely not do it every day (and trust me, I've tried).

The problem with doing it every day is that even though you're focusing on certain muscles, other muscles will get worked out too. For example, I do squats on my 'push' day, because they mainly work quads, but they also work glutes, hams, and lower back (which are all muscles on my pull day schedule).

I've found that a schedule of push/pull/off/push/pull/off/off seems to work the best for me.

I'm no longer an active member here. Please keep in touch:
“There's only one rule that I know of, babies—God damn it, you've got to be kind.”

I agree that you should take off days. Compound exercises tend to be the most effective, and remember, you don't get more fit from training, you get more fit from recovering. Taking time off to sleep and rest is super important if you want to see good progress.

That's interesting. I don't think I've heard that before. Or at least not that simplified. Care to elaborate more? I'd like to hear the science behind it.

I tend to do strength, cardio, off. Repeat.

I agree that you should take off days. Compound exercises tend to be the most effective, and remember, you don't get more fit from training, you get more fit from recovering. Taking time off to sleep and rest is super important if you want to see good progress.

That's interesting. I don't think I've heard that before. Or at least not that simplified. Care to elaborate more? I'd like to hear the science behind it.

basically, when you're doing strength training, you're damaging your muscles.