Forums are back in action! ×

Asthma anyone?

So, I have recently developed asthma because of allergies. This has put a cramp in my running, not so much because of the actual breathing, but because my asthma is allergy based and running outdoors makes me breathe all my allergens in a lot more deeply, so I just avoid the whole thing in spring and fall anyway.

My question is whether any of you have asthma and how you handle working out with weights. On a day like today, when my brain is not even functioning all that well cause I'm huffing and puffing to get a breath...should I skip the workout? Or would a workout do me good? Working out is something I love, so it always puts me in a better mood. But since I'm new to the asthma thing I'm not sure how to handle exercise.

Anyone have experience with this?

I have asthma but it doesn't stop me working out at all (my asthma is usually triggered by exercise but sometimes can be dust, cold weather or getting ill). Have your doctors prescribed any kind of preventative/control medication? Mine is Seretide but some people might have something different. Basically you take it day and night and it should keep you wheeze free throughout the day.

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Twitter Blog

Attributes:

Strength (STR): 3

Dexterity (DEX): 1

Stamina (STA): 4

Constitution (CON): 2

Wisdom (WIS): 3

Charisma (CHA): 2

Yeah, I take an inhalation medicine (called Foster) morning and night and an antihistamine every night. It has been really windy here for the past week and I think that's exacerbating the situation. Wind + Spring = lots of pollen shoved up my nose, I guess.

I always workout all year round, but have been having more trouble breathing the past couple of days. I teach and yesterday I was making no sense at all during my lessons, like I wasn't getting enough oxygen to the brain!

I guess my Q is whether I should workout when I am having difficulty breathing, or give it a rest for a couple of days.