Forums are back in action! ×

Standing at a Crossroads

Hello all,

My name is Nick and I'm 37 and just seem lost at life. I currently work as a social worker doing therapy at a boy's group home, I'm severely overweight (and this is after having weight loss surgery in 2012) and I just feel like life is passing me by. 

I have had hopes and dreams of changing careers from social work to web development but I seem to lose steam while studying on my own and it just falls apart. I'm not sure if its just me losing motivation, thinking I'm too old, or thinking the task is impossible. In the end, I just seem to slowly quit and then realize a few weeks later that I lost what I was doing and why.

Same seems to go for when I diet. I just slowly slip back into habits.

In any case, I came across the Level up Your Life book and it just sounded like a great idea. I finally got around to listening to it (I got the audiobook but then picked up the digital copy to refer back to). I have been trying to resist picking up underwear as I start (my biggest issue right now is how do I track my quests. Considering either a Bullet Journal or Evernote, and probably will do Evernote and switch to a journal later). I am also trying to decide what journey to go on.

I will admit as I started the book I started becoming a little resistant as it seemed focused a bit more on fitness, but then I realized that in the state I'm in physically that I will struggle regardless as I just feel lethargic in body, mind and spirit. That this is all because I am consuming bad fuel in a broken down vehicle. So, I took the first steps the other day by going on a nice walk. I still need to purge the house of sweets, but I am slowly getting there. I was considering doing keto again, but I liked what Steve said about Jason Bourne not watching macros, and that it really comes down to the quality of food I eat as well as moving if even a little more daily. 

So, here I am, joining the Rebellion.

• Like 1