Forums are back in action! ×

bloating? large intestines?

Hey guys,

New member here, but I've been involved in fitness for several years now (I'm actually a personal trainer, and after browsing fitness blogs a couple weeks ago I found this one and was pleased to see most of my personal methods being preached in a large community! nice.), aaand I've just got a little question. Possibly only focused to the ladies. Not sure. Cliff's notes are bolded.

Bear with me because I know it kinda sounds like a dumb question (especially coming from someone who claims to be a fitness professional). So. I feel like I am always bloated. Like no matter what. I've started blaming it on fiber intake, but I just don't know.

Sure, I could post my general diet for all to nitpick, but I'm not looking for any hardcore suggestions like "try cutting out all foods made in Sweden" or the like. I really just want to know: Does this happen to you? -- You're thin, with a healthy weight and low body fat, drink an adequate amount of water and get enough sleep with a balanced diet and good workout plan... and yet... when you look down, or feel your stomach, it just feels and looks ... idk, almost distended. It just pops out there. Especially after I eat (especially after a big meal for obvi reasons), but sometimes just when I wake up or right before bed, or often, right after I workout. I feel like I always have to suck in my bloat. I feel like I've always had this problem.

Sounds like bloating right? I just wonder - is it normal not to have a flat abdomen when, by all accounts, it should be pretty flat all the time? It's not fat that's sticking out, it's more like when I feel this big old section of my stomach it's like a water bag - firm to the touch, and sticking out way farther than it should. Desperate for some solidarity here! I have decent abs, they just don't like to show themselves!!

That doesn't sound normal... not that it's abnormal.