Forums are back in action! ×

This is the Way.

Hi all! I recently joined a gym to address mobility and pain issues. I am overweight, but I need to first focus on becoming stronger at an average fitness level before I can truly make weight loss goals. I cannot sit/lay on the floor, so that seems to take a lot of options away (though I want to work towards being able to do that.) 

My biggest frustration since joining the gym has been carving out a good strength routine to build from. In my search, I found NF, and I am hoping I'll be able to find my groove with exercises soon enough. I found the 4 week challenge forum, which greatly inspired me to write goals and a big picture plan for the year. I did join the challenge, and am starting with 4 goals! I also want to set goals with my character, I am still learning about that...

So anyways...hi from an old lady (I'm 38!):cool-new:  If anyone has any advice about a beginner strength training routine, I would love to learn more about that - I need to focus on building lower body strength, and my core. But any exercises that don't require me to lie/sit on the floor, bend down a lot or use a lot of balance are welcomed! 

Hey! I just wrote an essay on basic programming, will poke around and find it for you. https://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/beginner-body-weight-workout-burn-fat-build-muscle/ This is a great beginner workout - you can do the pushups and planks against a bench (hands elevated) to make it easier, and that way you won't be on the floor. Welcome to NF, see you around the boards! 

EDIT: Found it!

100% everything that @navis said :) 

I really like https://bretcontreras.com for information on programming - it's a great combination of no-nonsense 'what works' in addition to some of the physiological causes/effects.

When I first started programming, I found it useful to break stuff down a bit:

Strength Planes (with examples) - There are lots more, but this is a good start

Horizontal Pull (rows)