Forums are back in action! ×

Dancing and shoes

I've been swing dancing for about 8 months now and have tried a few shoes and it's time to get some new ones. I was always the type that thought I needed ultra support for my high arches. I usually wear New Balance for daily shoes etc. But after being here and learning about minimalist shoes and all the stuff I'm learning I am questioning what type of shoe to get for dancing. Most of the college kids at the dances wear things like Chucks or Keds type and they chrome them (add suede to the bottom for sliding/spinning.) I always felt the college kids could get away with wearing the no support shoes because they are young and don't notice the impact on the feet blah blah blah but now I'm wondering if it would be better to get a simple pair of shoes and chrome them or buy dance shoes with arch support and better padding.

Anyone have thoughts on this? Additional info is that I don't do any aerial type dancing where I'm in the air and landing on my feet so impact really isn't major but I am over 40 on sometimes on a crappy dance floor. Thanks for any advice!

“Women are like teabags. You never know how strong they are till they get in hot water." - Eleanor Roosevelt

MyFitnessPal Diary

Well, looks like I'm just a Human

STR 1; DEX 2; STA 1; CON 2; WIS 4; CHA 5

Bumblebee's Quest to Play!

Thanks Mom. I am leaning towards the minimal type shoe. Picked up a cheap pair of Ked type shoes yesterday while at Ross. VFF wouldn't be frowned on but I'll admit I'm a little too fashion concious to wear them since I usually wear dresses with twirly skirts (and shorts underneath) so Keds or the type will go with dresses ok. Chucks go with casual dresses fine but not when I wear one that's pretty dressy and fancy. Swing dancing is kind of my dress up and go out night so I like to feel put together and pretty.

“Women are like teabags. You never know how strong they are till they get in hot water." - Eleanor Roosevelt

MyFitnessPal Diary