Forums are back in action! ×

Could use a little pick-me-up

LRB

So, post a joke, a "I'm thinking of you," or something else to make me smile, please. I hesitate to ask, but could really use a bit of good in my life today. I posted this in my six-week-challenge thread, but wanted to put it someplace where more people would see it. I'm not good at asking for help, and hope you don't mind the cross-post.

===========================================

See, I have a very, very good friend. The only people to whom I am closer are my husband and my sister. My friend's family and mine joke that she and I "share a brain." Each family calls the other "framily" (somewhere between friend and family), our kids describe each other as cousins when talking to other people, and I refer to her as my anam cara, or "soul friend." And last Thursday, after two weeks in the hospital and a surgery to remove some of her colon, she found out she has stage 3 colon cancer (at the age of 43 -- far too young for age to be a risk -- and with no family history or predisposing factors), and is about to start six months of really intense, brutal chemotherapy.

A few other things you should know about this friend: (1) her ten-year-old daughter is catastrophically ill, and has been since she was eight months old. She wasn't expected to live past three years old. She's had a central line for most of her life, had a five-organ transplant about three years ago, and since then has gone through five rounds of rejection and had two separate immunosuppression-related cancers. And (2) my friend is a flute teacher, with a private studio. If she doesn't work, she doesn't get paid, and she doesn't have unemployment insurance or any of the coverage that those of us who are not self-employed get to have.