Forums are back in action! ×

Hello! I'm Alejandra.

I tried to be active on here a couple years ago but that didn't actually end up happening haha. So here I am, trying again. 

I'm 24, from Mexico, and a vegetarian. I graduated from university in June, and I've started my first full time job at a start-up like company. There is a lot to do and a lot of responsability to be handed to you if you're willing to help out and I've kind of ended up with a lot of things on my plate just a few months after joining. This has affected my health, both mental and physical. I work 12 hour days more often than I'd like, and since I'm paid by the hour, I can justify it by saying "well, at least I'm getting paid". Which... okay, extra money, but it doesn't do a lot for me in basically every other aspect of my life. The pandemic also didn't help since I stopped all physical activity until very recently and it shows on my weight, strength, flexibility, and energy levels. I also have student loans, which may explain why working a few extra paid hours sound nice, and in general the life of being a new young adult in this world is... uuuggghhh. I'm very goal oriented but oh my god, is it hard sometimes. 

With all this going on, I've been trying to make some moves for my health. I've joined a gym with a couple colleagues from the office to go after work (when we manage to get to the gym and don't stay at the office for more work), and I've been trying to watch what I eat. But I realize that I need advice, motivation, and companionship. My boyfriend lives with me and is going to be making the same lifestyle changes as I am so that's going to help, but I also wanted to try to build a community online as well. 

I know this will be good for me. My anxiety and stress levels are better when I work out and I have a lot more energy when I eat real food.