Forums are back in action! ×

I am a Cylon. Well, maybe not...

Actually I am a college grad of 2010 and since then I've been thrilled enough to have not gained any more weight. I stumbled upon NF a few months ago, read the blog posts, studied up on Paleo and fitness. I'm a software engineer, calculating and efficient (like a Cylon!). So my day involves sitting, sitting, and more sitting. I started riding my bike to work any day there is no rain, which is about 8 miles one way and running at lunch for about 3 miles on days I don't bike. But that doesn't burn the weight.

My current goal is weight loss and it has been since high school, but without much success. I'm at roughly 220 right now, hoping to get to 185. Right now my goals are simple. By the end of the summer, I want to be able to do 5 pull ups, run an 8:30 min/mile, and fit into my large t-shirts without looking like a blob. After that I will do the Agile thing, and re-evaluate my goals.

I love just about any outdoor activity; cycling, hiking, even running now (all aerobic). I really need to incorporate strength training though for burning fat. I'm not keen on gym memberships so I'm really looking for a way to do strength training without one; although there is a gym across the street that I am looking into. I've already leveled up my diet, now it's time to level up my workout which is.

My overarching goal is to be a combination Ranger/Scout; which I will call the Adventurer class (haven't taken any arrows to the knee yet). Able to cover great distances but still able to face any beast or situation I may face without thinking "Oh crap I didn't train for this". See these situations: http://artofmanliness.com/2011/05/27/the-hero-training-workouts-putting-it-all-together/.