Forums are back in action! ×

While I'm redefining myself...

Warning: this will be long. I'm a reader and writer. I'm long-winded. I like rambling. And since I'm shy and socially awkward, I've been writing this in my head for the last 2-3 days.

The me of two years ago would think the me of today was a pipe dream: I was living in Atlanta, stuck in a failing marriage, a messy house (you don't even know how bad; the ex is a hoarder), smoking anywhere from a half-pack to a pack of cigarettes a day, unemployed, overweight... you name it, it was wrong.

A year ago, on April 1st, I took a single suitcase to the airport, boarded a plane and went to stay with family until I got back on my feet. I started a new job within 6 weeks of getting back to Chicago (this is where I grew up). My divorce was final before July 1st and I got my own place on September 1st. I haven't had a single cigarette. I have my own studio apartment and my maintenance guy loves me because I have the cleanest apartment in the building. (So you can see, when I decide I want to change my life? I freaking change the hell out of my life. The determination and willpower is there, somewhere.)

But I'm still overweight. I'm just under 220lbs. At my heaviest, three years ago, I was 235. I've lost 15 in the last year, without really trying. I'm more active now than I was in Atlanta, and I'm eating a lot better now.

To be fair, I've been overweight all my life. It's always been a twitchy subject for me, because of how I got this way: ballet dancer mom started starving me early so I could follow in her toe shoes. It backfired: hungry kids don't sneak broccoli or carrots. I was all about the Twinkies. I developed very unhealthy relationships with food from very early on.