Forums are back in action! ×

assistance requested for the uneducated

okies, so I'm an financial moron. not to suggest I'm financially irresponsible. I'm excellent at saving my money and spending it wisely. however, I know NOTHING about credit limits, credit card interests, savings account fees, etc. I'm all about working for my money; but it's time I get my money to start working for me too.

what resources do y'all suggest for someone who's uninformed about the world of finances? I want to educate myself, but I really need a "Money for Dummies" level of simplicity to start.

(if it matters, I'm a USA resident.)

thanks in advance, fellow rebels!!

there is never a sudden revelation, a complete and tidy explanation for why it happened, or why it ends, or Why or Who you are. you want one and I want one, but there isn't one. it comes in bits and pieces, and you stitch them together wherever they fit, and when you are done you hold yourself up, and still there are holes and you are a rag doll, invented, imperfect. and yet you are all that you have, so you must be Enough. there is no other way.

Marya Hornbacher, Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia

a little more clarification (after re-reading the other threads in here):

I'm not in debt, so I'm not really looking for debt reduction. (I only have one hospital bill I'm paying off, with no interest.) but I'm getting fees from my savings account, and I don't know if it's better to use a debit card or a credit card.

I'm just looking for general information. like I said, a "Money for Dummies" that's reliable, if that makes any sense.