Forums are back in action! ×

Plateau Issues - need help

ranestorm

I'm a noob here at NF but I've been a lurker for a while. I've been working out and eating right since the beginning of April. I lost 17lbs the first 6 weeks but since then...nothing. Not ONE single pound! Now, I know that muscle weighs more than fat, and yes, I've lost more fat but it's just hanging out and enjoying itself and it won't LEAVE! I was eating way too little for a long time (about 1000 calories a day) and I've upped it to about 1500 for the last week and a half or so, but still no changes. I bodyrock which is HIIT training 5-6 days a week. Usually a couple days a week I add another workout in somewhere. In September I'm going to start training for a 5K also, but I really want this fat to go away. I've gone from doing 15 pushups in 50 seconds to 45 pushups and 20 squats to 50 or so in 50 seconds. I've come leaps and bounds strength wise, but I'm dying to get rid of this jiggle. I've been sitting at this weight for 2 months or so and I haven't gone down sizes in clothing or anything since then. I need some advice...

As far as my eating goes, I do track every calorie I eat. I watch my food, I stay away from junk, I don't drink anything but water, and my protein intake is around 100-125g per day. help?!?!

From what I've seen and heard around the threads, poundage isn't the most important. Measurements seem to be the best way to tell if you're actually making progress. Take body measurements and see if those are changing. You may be replacing fat with muscle, hence the lack of change, or even increase in weight.

Plateauing is caused by eating too little or too much.