Forums are back in action! ×

Hello from Vancouver! (with progress shots)

Hey all,

Been a subscriber on the blog for a while now, really stoked about the new forums!

Anyhow I'm a 28 year old sysadmin from Vancouver BC who's been dabbling in the fitness thing for a while, but decided to step up my game mid-way through last year.

Most of my life I bounced between chubby and obese, and I had a hard time sticking to any kind of routine or diet. Around 2006 I realized something had to change, I started working out on a semi-regular basis and cleaned up my diet quiet a bit, I dropped from around 190lbs to around 160, and fluctuated near that weight for a couple years.

While I was certainly happier with my body, I never could drop that last 15lbs, or get the shredded physique that is hammered into our skulls by the media. June of last year I decided to change that and did what any nerd would do, I dug into the topic of fitness with a voracious appetite for information that only a geek can muster. I realized that by using machines, doing isolation exercises, and doing low intensity cardio; I was just wasting my time in the gym. And with that I started lifting heavy barbells 3 days a week, doing sprints, and eating clean; the results were dramatic;

vyZDMXS.jpg

*The first pic was taken in 2006, at a weight of around 185lbs.

*In the 6/1/09 pic I was at 160lbs, and probably the best shape I'd been able to muster through my inefficient workout routine, it was also the day before I started doing heavy compound lifts.

Over the next couple months I saw my body transform in ways I never thought possible. Now I'm addicted to lifting, and my goal for 2010 is to continue improving my strength, stamina, and flexibility.

I've learned a lot (and am still learning!) on my path, and hope that I can contribute towards helping others get the body they want.

Driving Enthusiast, Strength & Fitness Advocate, Sci-Fi Fan, Classic Game Collector, IT Professional