Forums are back in action! ×

New trol... I mean recuit here! (For those who do not get the reference... older computer games are your friends.) :tongue:

Not much to say about me. I am a college student who after being overweight for the past 4 years, and out of shape for ALL of his life, I want to fix it. I only have two real physical attributes right now: I am strong enough to be the one relied on in my group of family and friends to do the heavy lifting type of work (in spite of not having all that impressive of actual weight lifting numbers.) I also am quite tolerant of pain and am durable (found out by a rather large myriad of circumstances, no small portion of which is from being a massive klutz.) What does that mean for my goals? Not sure, other than it more or less contributes to the mentality that makes me value the type of goals I do. I also found this site recently, and immediately fell in love when I saw the article regarding making my physical fitness an RPG. Nerd Fitness indeed! :D

To address the former, I am curently doing the LeanGains approach, which is basically pushing back or skipping breakfast, the idea being to encourage a metabolic boost, contrary to common wisdom towards any amount of fasting (the belief is similar to the Paleo Diet in calling back to evolutionary neccesity, which is to push the hunter to be more efficient to find the next meal, with starvation mode only happening after a long time without food.) It has already been making significant improvements in my physique and weight in fat. That, plus developing a Paleo Diet seems to be helping my dietary habits greatly.