Forums are back in action! ×

After C25k?

Fani

I am new to running but I now LOVE it! Never thought I would say that. Tonight will be my last C25k run. I really enjoyed the program and am shocked to see me running 30 minutes consecutively and still ready to go more.

All that being said, I am not fast. At all. I know I can push harder but my goal was finishing, not how fast. I am going about 3 miles for my 40 minutes of run (inc 5 min warm up/cool down). I am very goal oriented. I do better when I have something I need to finish.

Where do I go from here? Do I do the 5 to 10k program by active.com? Do I redo the C25k aiming to run faster? Based on what I saw in the 5 to 10k there was pace based work.

In terms of races, I have several 5k's coming up and the women's half marathon in late September. I am doing the half with friends and we are thinking of doing jog/walk intervals mile per mile.

Since you are already signed up for a half marathon, I'd aim at upping the distance (e.g. 5 to 10 k). Even if you are planning on walking intervals during the actual race, you'll feel far more confident and comfortable if you have some distance work under your belt.

Good luck!

Always kick higher

It depends on your goals and what you want to get out of running. Have a longer distance race coming up or you enjoy longer distance? Work on building up to that distance. Have a 5k race coming up or you want to be faster? Maybe work on your speed.

STR – 24.45, DEX – 13.50, STA – 23.50, CON – 21.40, WIS – 27.65, CHA – 4.50
When the sun comes up, you better start running - Thomas Friedmen
Epic Quest - Current Challenge - Twitter - Goodreads - Fitbit - blog

Keep jogging, but turn the session into a fartlek now and then. (Google it, it's 4am and I'm tired.)

Do some sprint-hill workouts instead of a long run some days.

Work on getting your 5k under 30 minutes. (Run your normal route, just try to do it a bit faster each day.)