Forums are back in action! ×

Starting over here

I guess my first post was in the wrong place so I'll start again from here.

I joined the NF forums about a month back but never really did anything but lurk until now.

A little background

I'm 25, married and I work as a manufacturing technician for a company that makes computer memory. I used to run all the time and was actually fairly fast back in high school but haven't kept with it at all. Two of my work friends have been doing about 1 triathlon a month and convinced me to join up for the next one they are doing. its a super beginner one only being 1/2 the distance of a sprint triathlon so I figured why not, it'd be the best place to start. Only issue is I have never done any training with biking or swimming. so any tips would be greatly appreciated.

My eventual goal is to get back up to the point I was at the end of high school. (5 minute mile, 16 minute 5k)

My short term goal is to not die in this short triathlon. it is 3 weeks away on September 3rd.

and I'd also like to GAIN WEIGHT!

Height is 6 foot nothing, and my weight as of 5 minutes ago was 128 lbs. Yeah I know I'm super lightweight. (I guess that would put me in the elf race??)

Going to start working towards my goals today starting with 10 push ups, 25 sit ups and a run each morning. I guess I'll see where it goes from there.

I'm excited to make friends and be a part of this community!