Forums are back in action! ×

Want to feel strong for once

I'm a 25-year-old female software engineer, 5'6", around 155-165 lbs (I don't own a scale, so I'm not totally sure...). I've never been very active, but I've also never eaten too badly, so until the past couple years I never gained too much weight. In the past year (actually, the past 4 months) I got married, changed jobs, finished my MS, and moved halfway across the country. While concentrating on work and school and planning a wedding over the past 1-2 years, I let my diet slip a little and got heavier than I had ever been before - heavier than I was comfortable with.

Now that all my big life stuff is done, I finally have the time and energy to concentrate on getting my body healthy (and am actually feeling motivated to do so, which is unusual). I'm very weak, I can't even do a full modified (knees) push-up! I've never felt like my body was very good at anything, and I really want to change that. I want to get strong and have good cardiac endurance. It would be nice to look good and fit into a few size 6-8 dresses I have, but mostly it's about not feeling like a floppy, lazy, squishy weakling all the time.