Forums are back in action! ×

I'm a big fat nerd

Hi I'm Jesse, and I'm a big fat guy and a nerd. I'm 33yo, 6'0" and I recently weighed in at 295 lbs. I'm a registered nurse in Texas with 1 full time job in organ donation and a part time job in a trauma ICU. I work 12 hour night shifts for both of them. For the last year I've been eating a mostly vegetarian carb-heavy diet, lost a lot of weight in the beginning but when I started my job as a donation coordinator which involves a lot more time at a desk I gained it all back and then some. I was a gymnast in middle/high school but ever since then it's been a slow creep upward on the scale.

I've started having a lot of lower back pain (doctor/xrays say nothing is wrong that getting into shape won't fix) and I recently put myself into the hospital as a patient with a heart arrhythmia and high blood pressure from overdoing caffeine (Mountain Dew is now my mortal enemy). My PCP and cardiologist both said the same things: cardio, weight training, cut back on caffeine, and quit smoking or I'll be diabetic with heart and kidney failure in 10-20 years. I'm a nurse; I know what that looks like. This scared the crap out of me, and it's time to make some changes.

The idea of leveling up at life is one my brother and I came up with a while back, and doing some googling along those lines brought me here! I can't tell you how excited I am to find a bunch of nerds like me with similar goals and motivations.