Forums are back in action! ×

G'day there...

Yep, a skip here. A bloke from the land down under, the land of Forex. Not sure if you've got others about the traps, but you have now.

Married with 3 daughters and, so far, indestructible.

40 has stopped sneaking up on me and has chosen to have a crack at me Kato style this year.

I work as a DBA in the mining industry, exploration mostly, and have to travel a lot for work.

Mention computers or data at a mine site and you'll see giant hairy men crying in their beers...

I'm on the road for about 2-3 weeks a month and the other week working from home.

OK; the money is great, the destinations rock, the people are terrific and the conditions are certainly nothing to whinge about.

But... it does have its costs as well. It grossly outweighs other parts of your life. Physical health and weight cycles up and down, there are impacts on relationships and family, fatigue and mental health are always under close attention as well. So, like all jobs, it has its pro's and con's.

Relationships are OK as we've been doing this as a family for a long time. I tell people "It's not bad. Just like having an affair with a married woman..."

Right now I'm dealing with the cons head on and the most major one is my physical health and teaming up with NF is a natural progression for me.

My personal fitness goal is a bit like that American Thingy (Dream?) where the older guy (Kevin I think his name was) just wants to look good naked.

I'm not interested in the bit where he hooks up with a young lass - too much trouble I reckon. Taken me decades to train my wife... ;) ouch!

For me, it's being able to wear a Bonds singlet ('wife-beater' as they are known colloquially) comfortably.

I don't need six pack abs for that, just general fitness and less body bits that laugh with me.

That's the final goal... Got quite a few smaller goals before I get there though.