Forums are back in action! ×

Returning to university after several years in the "real world"

illc

Hi All, I'm coming to realize that I've pursued my current job about as far as is beneficial to me and could benefit from leveling up my educational credentials to open some new opportunities. A common situation, no? yeah, yeah, I know this isn't as fun a post as most here in "The Pub".

I work as a field team lead and systems operator for a survey and mapping company. Basically I roam North America (sometimes Central America and Australia too, actually) planning and carrying out aerial survey operations. Sometimes this has me doing logistics, data processing and QA/QC of digital imagery and lidar from a motel room office, sometimes it has me raining lasers down upon the earth from a helicopter or small plane. It's an occupation that makes for great cocktail conversation - I've been thinking I should make one of those "What people think I do" meme photo sets. On the flip side, I travel for about 75% of the year, often leaving home on 48 hours notice or less, often to podunk little towns and when I get there it's a mad see-saw of 16 hour workdays and then totally unoccupied ones playing "hurry up and wait" with clients, contractors, etc.. Additionally, as it's a medium-cap corporate gig my role is fairly siloed intellectually. I got into GIS/geomatics/geospatial wanting to do data analysis, problem solving and decision support around urban and environmental issues but have followed a path far from that. I produce data and hand it to people who refine it into a saleable product and then our clients do the cool stuff with it. Right now for me this is a surefire path to burnout and lack of fulfillment. My employer's got little to no interest in supporting professional development, so it looks like this change may be a 100% independent undertaking that's going to involve me quitting this job.