Forums are back in action! ×

Joining the community

Hi folks. I'm a college student finishing up my master's degree in computer engineering. I'm one of those high-metabolism skinny guys. I've been sedentary most of my life, and I have typically performed pretty badly any time I needed to do anything physically demanding. At various times in the past three years or so, I've tried to get in better shape, but I haven't been very thorough about it. I lifted weights and kept track of my performance, but I gave almost no thought to my diet. I'm 22 years old and 5'9". During high school and most of college, I weighed between 130 and 135 lbs and ate pretty much whatever I felt like. Last school year, I was excrutiatingly busy and gained like 15 pounds of what I can only assume was pure fat from eating convenience store snacks for multiple meals per day.

This summer, I finally had some time to devote to getting fit and started going through the Rebel Strength Guide. The gym at my office had minimal free weights and no pullup bar, so I just stuck with the Basic Training bodyweight exercise regimen. I'm pretty experienced at lifting, so most of the exercises weren't really doing much for me, e.g. I can do bodyweight squats for several minutes until I get bored and quit around 30 reps. I was mostly focused on developing a routine, increasing my calorie intake, and tracking my workouts and meals. I kept eating whatever sounded good at the time but intentionally ate more than usual. It seems like on days where I just eat the amount that seems natural, I eat about 1800 calories, and on days where I really push it, I get up to like 2700. During this time, I went from 150 lbs to 156 lbs. My only noticeable performance gain was in maximum number of pushups (from 10 to 15). My physical appearance showed no change.