Forums are back in action! ×

Another recruit to the cause

I've been reading Nerd Fitness for about a year now and decided it was time to join the community. I'm originally from the US but now I live in Scotland. I'm a 46 year old mother of two and I write software -- well, these days I look after people ("manage" -eeurgh, I hate that word when applied to people) who write software more than writing it myself.

My fitness journey so far:

I've never been particularly sporty and was generally somewhat overweight/overfat. I ballooned, though, when I was pregnant. In early 2004, when my younger daughter was 6 months old, I had a big fitness wake up call. I tried to run to catch a train and discovered exactly how unfit I was. A run of maybe 100 meters had me gasping and wheezing -- I thought I was going to need medical help.

So, in February 2004 I started on The Hacker's Diet (which I still use to track my weight), and later that year started running with an "absolute beginners" run/walk program. Between February and December of 2004 I lost 60 pounds, which I have maintained ever since. I ran a 5k race for charity that year and slowly built up to half marathons in following years.

A few years ago I took up Krav Maga, and lately I've been working on strength training. My current quest is to do a pull-up -- I've never done one in my life. I'm reasonably good at tracking my progress -- delighted to find I'm not the only one with Google Docs spreadsheets -- but improvement is slow. Still, I've achieved my previous goals (most recently pushups) with the classic Nerd Fitness baby steps and small changes, so I know I'll get there.