Forums are back in action! ×

Looking to get fit while having a more than full time theatre job

Hey all!

I'm pretty new to nerdfitness and just wanted to introduce myself. I just found the site on Tuesday and immediately signed up. I'm looking to lose some weight and get into shape so I can keep up with the guys next summer at my summer gig at Tecumseh! Outdoor Drama.

Quick bio: I graduated in 2010 from a small school in PA and immediately (like 48 hours later) started working 50+ hours a week at a professional theatre. 2 1/2 years later, I'm still going and working at multiple theatres in the DC area on a regular basis. Some days I work 3 jobs, some I work none. Some weeks I work 10 hours and some weeks I work 80 (my record is 104). Needless to say, my schedule is unpredictible and I love it that way!

My biggest struggle in the past has been emotional eating. It's a pretty standard thing for me: when I love my job and have a strong group of friends that I'm with a lot (which ususally happens with acting jobs as opposed to costume jobs), I eat right, am relatively active, and am happy. Therefore, I lose some weight and am in generally better health. When I'm frustrated, stressed, or bored with my work (which happens more than you would think. One of my current jobs is primarily training people and paperwork), I have a harder time controlling what I eat and spend a lot more time zoning out in front of the tv or computer because I don't want to deal with people. To top it off, I'm in a profession where people bringing candy, cookies, Starbucks, cake, etc to work to share is common and getting late night bar food and beers happens at least once a week.