Forums are back in action! ×

Former Monk turned out-of-shape Druid. Nice to meet you!

Hello, everyone! I go by Eridian. I'm just starting out in my journey to not suck at fitness. Once upon a time, I was a monk. I was by no means a jock, but I was at least in good shape. I did lots of cardio and Tae Kwon Do, but now, not so much. I eat almost nothing but junk food and I almost never exercise. That's a big change in just a few years. I constantly have excuses for not eating well or exercising.

My first major goal is to kick my absurd soda drinking habit. I never used to drink water, as it always sits very heavy in my stomach and makes me nauseated. Really couldn't tell you why. I've made some good strides in my goal! (2 on Monday, 1 Tuesday and none since then! :D) After a lifetime of drinking it and the past few years drinking ONLY soda, I guess that's something? I predict a few hiccups, but I want to keep trying and not give up. It's not easy to break a 10+ year caffeine addiction and monstrous sweet tooth, but I'm well on my way! Wish me luck, I'll need it. :(

Unfortunately, I love my carbs and I have a low budget, so the 10 pound bag of rice in my pantry stays there until I eat it. As do the noodles and ramen. Going Paleo intrigues me, but I won't be able to consider it until my food stores are depleted. I'd at least like to try it for a while and see if I like it. For now, I'd like to start with a strong base of exercise and eating healthier in general. My lifestyle has shifted to the point where I truly enjoy Yoga, Pilates and other body training exercises. I think I'll be at home with the Druids. I'd like to get to a point where I'm more flexible, healthier, and in better control of my own body.