Forums are back in action! ×

I have a question about fasting...

Goldie

Do many people here do intermittant fasting? Has it helped in your goals at all? Could you give some detail?

Have you tried it and really disliked it?

I ask because I was surprised to see it as a suggestion. Obviously i'm no expert and I take the advice here and in the NF blog as suggestions - i know that what works for one person may not work for another.

Since starting exercise and researching on the web everywhere you look it states you shouldn't go longer than 3 hrs without eating, beware of starvation mode, you'll ruin your metabolism... you get the picture.

So have i taken those warnings too literally and they actually mean if you drop cals significantly for a long period of time you do damage (I got the impression from the articles etc that you did damage as soon as you went beyond that 3-4 hour window without eating!) and that doing it once in a while can be beneficial?

I did a fast to drop some quick weight a few years ago. I was trying to get into the military and they suggested it. It did work and I honestly didn't feel that bad, actually had a lot of energy. This is my personal exp and I honestly don't know enough about it to suggest it. Looking back on it I honestly feel dumb for just doing it without all that much research.

"It's always the ones that don't do anything that try to bring you down" - Henry Rollins

"There is no meantime, there is only now" - The Ditty Bops

Trail Blazing Elf Ranger Sumdawgtwigg Level 3  STR-3 DEX-4 STA-4 CON-3 WIS-5 CHA-2

Fitocracy

My Game Blog

DO IT CHALLENGE!

I started IFing every day a couple months ago, and I like it for two reasons. First, I don't need to worry about eating breakfast. I'm just fine without it. Second, I can eat bigger meals later in the day :) The "starvation mode" talk is not true, in my experience. I was on the "meal-every-three-hours" plan a while back and it drove me nuts trying to stick to it.