Forums are back in action! ×

Anyone want to help make a D&D style game for 6th graders?

IvyClimber

I'm a teacher, and I'm trying to put together a D&D style game for 6th graders. The trouble is that I only played D&D with my dad and brother when I was a lot younger, and never DMd, so I am not exactly sure how to put it all together.  

Here's what I've got so far: 

grid-style game boards with some squares painted blue for water areas - places their animals can't walk

Tons of 6 sided dice and one 20 sided die for me

Pennies & glass beads for energy tokens

Before student turns begin, I'd roll a 20-sided die to determine whether there are any special circumstances as follows:

1 - freak tornado - all roll to see who survives (1, 2, 3 are swept away)

2 - snow - takes double energy to move each square / roll to see who survives (1 succumb to exposure)

3 - sunshine & fair skies - takes 1/2 energy to move each square (so 1 energy - 2 squares if they wish)

4 - virus affects producers (food), so food availability cut in half, rounding down (need a 4 or 5 just to get 1 food)

5 - virus affects students' animals, roll to see affects (1 - death, 2 - no food this turn, 3 - double energy to move, 4 - 6 no problems)

6 - virus affects predators - no predator attacks this turn

7 - warm weather & abundance of food (Food roll +1)

8 - 20 normal circumstances

Animals can move as many blocks as the amount of energy they have.  They start with an energy level of 10.  They have to roll wherever they stop to see if they found food there (1 - no food, 2 - no food, 3 - 1 food, 4 - 2 food, 5 - 3 food, 6 - 4 food).  Food, of course, changes to energy. If they run out of energy and don't find food, they starve.