Forums are back in action! ×

New rebel...with a cause.

...has that joke been made like, 2374923 times on the forums?  I bet.  Whatever!

Anyway.  Hi there! My name is Katie.  I'm 26 and I live in Connecticut, just outside the Hartford area.  And I am most definitely a nerd.  I am the queen of lame jokes (hence the title of this post), and Eric Cartman is one of my personal heros.  I thoroughly enjoy playing video games (my recent obsession is Dishonored).  I'm also a high school choir teacher who enjoys reading & conducting research about my profession (and about anything, really).  I hope to enroll in a PhD program for music education within the next two years, with the goal of being a college professor so that I can conduct research studies all the time (yes, I love to write papers).  I also crochet, love my two cats, and am in bed by 9:30 almost every night.  Yes--I am a cross between a 13 year old boy, and a 90 year old woman.

And from here, I will copy & paste what I wrote in my "about me" (another fact: I am lazy):

I also maintain a blog about life, fitness, food, hobbies, and whatever else I want to write about over at The Simple Songbird.

My journey with weight has been long & complicated, and I have learned a TON along the way.  If you want all the gory details, you can read them here.

The short(ish) version:

I was overweight for my entire childhood.  In college, I spent one summer working out every day (walking & pilates DVDs) and eating no more than 1400 calories (often closer to 1200) which consisted of 100 calorie packs and diet & fat-free everything.  I lost 36 pounds in 3 months, and sure enough, it only took a year to gain it all back, and then some.  At my highest recorded weight, I was 220 pounds (and I'm sure I weighed more than that at some point).