Forums are back in action! ×

New recruit

Hello all,

I'm new to NF and thought I'd take a big step by introducing myself on the forum.  I find that accountability is the biggest factor in my success rate, so I'm hoping you guys will be helping me out!

I am 34 years old, 5'2", and weigh 162 pounds.  Ouch.  (For tall people who think 162 would be awesome, on a 5'2" frame, it is the last pound before your doctor declares you obese.)  When I began my New Year's Resolution 2013, I was 167, so I have made some progress.

My story?  I was skinny growing up.  I think I weighed a whopping 107 when I graduated high school.  I wasn't deliberately doing anything, but I skipped meals if nothing I felt like eating was being served and I walked 5 miles a day just to get out of the house.  Once I went off to college the foodie in me had more free range.  Being an over-achiever, I pooh-poohed the Freshman 15 and went all out for the Freshman 30.  My weight yo-yoed around all through college, but didn't really explode until I got married and moved overseas.  I couldn't get a job, didn't speak the language, and didn't have a car, so I had nothing to do but sit around my house and eat.  Then, I got pregnant and did more sitting around and eating.  Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

I took up running about a year and a half ago, since I loved the "superwoman" feeling I got after doing sprints.  Somehow, I thought that would be x1000 for long distance running, so I went for that.  Not so much.  I actually gained a surprising (and frustrating) amount of weight while miserably grinding out 25 miles a week, and had my brief career cut short with a knee injury.