Forums are back in action! ×

Better today than yesterday

I have been prowling about on this site for awhile and found the information on this site to very much ring true for me.  I work as a Computer Software Engineer (sedentary) and I am a husband and a father of an almost 1 year old boy.  I want to be the best I can be for my wife and son and that means taking better care of myself.

I like the idea of the 6-week challenges and plan to join the next challenge as a Ranger.  Setting good goals has never been my strong suit.  I will always take feedback on any goals I set for myself to help me improve.  I love the attitude of doing something every day that makes me better than I was yesterday.  I currently track my workout details through Fitocracy and my diet through MyPlate.

I am currently about 20 lbs over my target weight.  I enrolled in a very nice weight loss incentive through my health insurance provider.  My main objective, however, is to have the energy, strength, and endurance to be active with my son as he grows.  I currently try to get at least 2 strength workouts in per week and at least one cardio (swimming is my preference).  I just enrolled in a Swim Challenge at the YMCA that I go to. Over the next 9 months, my goal is to swim 100 miles.  This is a tough challenge for me.  I can currently swim, with little stopping, about 1 competition mile (1650 yards) in about 45-50 minutes.  To reach the goal I figure I will need to swim twice per week for close to an hour each time.  Thankfully I work directly across the street from the gym and lunch is a great time to get in there.

I am very much an introvert so I don't know how active I will be on these forums.  I don't know what all I will talk about.  For starters I will probably post my progress, participate in the challenges, and see where things go.  I do hope to connect with people through here though that can help motivate me and keep me accountable.

Level 2 Hawk Assassin