Forums are back in action! ×

Howdy folks!

Howdy!

My name is Jacob, and I am new to both the site and the forums. I stumbled across the site a week ago or so through a reference to it on the Starting Strength forums.

I am a 30 year old, chronically scrawny dude. I'm 5'9", 140 lbs. I was one of those "I can eat 15 bowls of ice cream a day and lose weight" kind of guys up through the end of college, but then my metabolism started to catch up with me. I put on a little weight, but kept it under control through running and a little biking. Then I got lazy and good at cooking delicious but terrible-for-me foods and put on a fair bit more. At about 175 (which isn't huge, I know, but it was huge for me) I got disgusted with myself and decided to do something about it. I did P90X 2/3 of the way through a couple times and dropped about 15 pounds. Eventually I became disgusted by meat (for a reason I still can't figure out) and stopped eating it about a year and a half ago. I dropped 13 pounds in two weeks then leveled off at 147 for about a year during which time I was basically sedentary again.

I started exercising again about 6 months ago, doing a combination of running and a full body weight training routine I invented myself. I lost 7 more pounds and got quite a bit stronger during that time. 

I've now decided to switch my focus over to strength training and putting on muscle mass. I am going to start Starting Strength within the next couple of weeks, bump up my caloric intake by about 1200/day, and work my way toward gaining around 35 or 40 pounds before cutting some. It'll be my first time doing any barbell training, so I am pretty nervous.

I am a tax policy analyst by day, and if that doesn't qualify me as a nerd, I don't know what does. I also love cats. And Iron Man.

Looking forward to getting to know y'all!

Guest Dirty Deads