Forums are back in action! ×

Body measurements for strength training?

Well, I'm new to strength training too - I started two weeks ago. I'm obviously not an expert, but here's what I measured:

In terms of my body, I used a tape measure to measure around my:

- neck

- chest/bust

- waist

- hips

- thigh

-upper arm

There're some good websites that tell you how/where to measure.

I also weighed myself and then used an online calculator to estimate my BF% using the DoD method. It's only an estimate, and I used pictures from Steve's article on bodyfat to kind of verify. It's rough, but will hopefully allow me to see/ measure changes. I use free apps or a spreadsheet to occasionally make a pretty progress graph.

Also, take some photos of yourself! I'm addicted to before and 'progress' photos.

In terms of measuring my strength gains, I am just recording my workouts. I use an app on my iPhone called 'Gym Hero,' and the 'Fitocracy' app. If something I did was to failure or particularly difficult, I note it down and then do a happy dance on a subsequent workout when I smash through it. I didn't measure my 1RM on anything because I had no idea what that was at the time :D I'm note sure if it's a good idea for a newbie to try 1RM or not.

My advice would be to just write everything down. If it was really hard or you couldn't lift that weight, write it down so you'll remember that once you couldn't do it and now you can.

That's my newbie advice. I'm sure some of the other awesome warrior nerds here can give you some experienced answers - seriously, they are super knowledgeable.

Warrior Princess
Eating Psychology Coach

Adventure's Guild Challenge winner: Challenge #24

â•‘ Live the Whole  â•‘ Bucket List â•‘Level up my Lifeâ•‘ 

"Don't ever save anything for a special occasion. Every day you're alive is a special occasion."