Forums are back in action! ×

Am I able to do this?

Ok. I'm overweight and I want to lose. sort of. (that's where I need help, really wanting to do what it takes.)

I'm 4'11", weigh 188, am 56 yo. As my name implies, I'm a fiber artist, and so mostly soft, dreamy music, flower-child art, lots of natural teas, Everything is slow & easy in my life.

My religious beliefs don't permit me to do yoga, tai chi, or any exercise that originated with another religious belief and activity. 

I've never played a single role-playing game in my life so all this nerdy stuff eludes me. BUT I do star trek, star wars, and sci-fi books and movies. (really a big reader.)

I already eat mostly well. On my own I'll eat fruit over candy, and love veggies and meats. but I don't exercise. period. HOWEVER, a new life change forces me to sit for 3 hours every evening to watch movies with my aging Mom & hubby to keep her company. (I'm trying not to resent this as it used to be my prime creating time.) They eat non-stop carbs the entire time, and it is hard not to join them.

I start off and walk a 1/4 mile (up and down my driveway 1x. (one mile is 4x) I am not allowed to join a gym, have only a pair of 3lb dumbbells which I have no idea how to use. I do this 2x a week, then give up.

See I'm really going to need ENCOURAGEMENT!!!

POSITIVES:

I look in the mirror and every day and say I want to lose weight

I run up and down the stairs to Moms at least 3x but usually 6 - 7 x a day

I eat healthy meals when I take the time to make them, I'm an excellent cook.

I have a strong will and can stick to stuff if properly motivated. (15 years ago I cut ALL carbs & sugar and stuck to it for 2 years to lose 30 pounds)

I took a stress test. The machine was set up for a person 5'6" and so I was forced to run all out, and made it to the end unable to hold my breath until 30secs had passed. They said I was "remarkably fit, heart-wise." So I know that I can exercise if I choose to.

Weaknesses to overcome: