Forums are back in action! ×

Long time lurker, now officially a member. Hello!

Hey there, another slightly clueless newbie reporting for duty!

I'm a student from Scotland who has been trying to get fitter for years and have somehow ended up worse off than where I started despite being on a degree that requires you to go out and hike, bike, and climb (and more). My first wake up call came at the start of June. I walked maybe 14km and when I got home I realised I'd had my first ever experience of thigh chafing. At that point I started cutting things like fizzy drinks and sweets from my diet. I'm working up to at least a 75% paleo diet by the time I head back to uni in September.

Physically speaking, that particular wake up call happened this Tuesday past. My mother woke me up early to join her for a morning run, and I promptly got my chubby behind kicked by a woman who is almost a pensioner. Not good for an outdoor sports student really, is it? (though good for her!)

I joined here for two main reasons:

--- To get some help forming realistic goals, because, honestly, I suck at setting goals. I've spent a long time being the 'lose a little weight' or 'bike a little further' person. Nothing definite, nothing with a good path of progression.

--- And I won't lie, I find it difficult to keep going without some kind of social aspect. Running with my mother is all very well, but the majority of my friends are scattered about the country, meaning that I'm starting out alone. It's scary, and I'm hoping being a part of a community that is going for the same kind of thing will help out a little.

So, cheers for reading and apologies for the rambling!

"The old that is strong does not wither, deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken, a light from the shadows shall spring."

Yeti on Flickr - Facebook - Instagram

Hello!

Welcome to the most awesome, helpful forum on the entire internet!