Forums are back in action! ×

Challenger Approaching!

Hello all!

Bit of info about myself as I am now first:

I'm a 24 year old guy living in the Midlands, United Kingdom. I work as a software developer and am a quite avid gamer, so as a result I spend FAR too much time on my backside. Combine this with a few years of eating absolute rubbish and smoking and you have a reasonably overweight and very unfit guy.

One midnight coughing fit too many and I've decided this is going to change.

I've started weightlifting at a local gym, and I've been running around the local park for a few weeks now in an effort to get fit (not a treadmill fan, I'd prefer to pound concrete). I'm planning on taking kick boxing classes once I have determined which of the nearby clubs are worth attending. I've switched over to using an electronic cigarette and I am reducing my usage of it to try and bring myself off the nicotine addiction.

I've also started a transition over to a paleo diet, which at the moment has involved switching out my sugary snacks for carrots and celery, and avoiding processed meats and foodstuffs where possible. This is something I'm going to be researching as time goes on. Next on the agenda is to start cooking meals at home and bringing meals to work with me to up the protein intake.

My current goals are as follows:

1. Be able to deadlift, benchpress, shoulder press and squat my CURRENT bodyweight well before christmas '13 (100~kg), currently hitting 40kg on 3/4 of those lifts.
  2. Beat my co-worker at a competition over body fat reduction, winner determined by highest % BF lost before Sept 30th. Loser hands over £15 to the winner, winner is obligated to spend (minimum) that bet money plus their own bet, £30 in total, on new clothing to fit their new figure.
  3. Manage a 5k at a running pace (slow run is fine, just no jogging) by September

My (rough)battle plan, which is still being fleshed out: