Forums are back in action! ×

Wannabe ranger, checking in!

Hey nerds!

I used to lurk here like 2 years ago, but recently remembered that NF has a forum, and I'd like to finally get involved here. I'm a skinny-nerd-runner-cyclist by trade, but I'd like to put on some muscle while continuing to do stupid amounts of cardio.

My ultimate goal is to look good as I cross the Ironman Louisville finish line in 2014!

I suck at swimming and everything flexibility related, so I'm going to concentrate on those while continuing to do SL 5x5 (been doing for a few months now). I think the main thing holding me back is my lack of decent sleep and adequate calories. 

I look forward to interacting with you all :)

~Sean

Wood Elf - Level 1 Ranger

Blue Belt in pushups

STR: 2   DEX: 2   STA: 3   CON: 2   WIS: 3   CHA: 3 

flickrfacebook | blog

Welcome to the rebellion!

There are definitely lots of skinny nerds you can offer advice (not one of them, unfortunately), but that's awesome that you've been doing SL! Lack of sleep and not eating enough of the right stuff is definitely no good for gains, so that sounds like a great place to potentially focus on next challenge.

Storytelling Rebel
| Blog | Twitter

"“You've seen my descent, now watch my rising." ~ Rumi

Welcome!  I'm relatively new here, but I think we have some stuff in common.  I am a female cyclist (raced a little in grad schoool) who has been lifting since Feb.  Eating enough is HARD!  My cycling is built into my life and isn't going anywhere any time soon, so doing less cardio ain't gonna happen.  The trick is to be as strong as I can withough messing with my cycling.

Eat fat.  The cardio is a high cal slow burn, so you have some reserves when you leave the gym.

Also, hit the electrolytes hard.  No, Gatorade isn't paleo, but if you're sweating enough you're gonna need it.

Are you sepcifically doing tri or are you mostly a cyclist?