Forums are back in action! ×

Dizz in the desert

Hi!  I'm Dizz, I was brought here by one of the articles on the NF site. Anyway, I'm a nerd in more ways that I care to describe now. :P  I am a nurse and a new one. In school, I stress ate and didn't exercise much. It was really intense. I graduated and suddenly I had free time. I decided to lose the weight I have gained in school plus what I had from before. I joined a gym and I kicked butt.  

I started with 30 min weights/45 cardio 4-5 days a week.  That made a huge difference in the initial 2 months and I had greater endurance and lost a few pounds.  Then I got work and was unable to go more than 2-3 days a week.   I hit a plateau, but still felt better in general than before I started working out.

Then my feet started to REALLY hurt. They have been achy the whole time, but it seems worse the last 2 months... See this thread: http://nerdfitnessrebellion.com/index.php?/topic/35597-plantar-fasciitis-but-i-wanna-run/

Anyway, I'm thinking the wise thing is to give my feet a break and do other things to work out. Today I went for a swim and managed to get winded, good workout.  

More about me.

I juggle, which is a great workout on it's own... especially when I drop!  I continue with the weights, since being a nurse requires me to pick people up sometimes. I don't do it for 30 min anymore, more like 15.  :nevreness:

Level 9 Tiefling Ranger/Scout

STR 9 DEX 16 CON 15 INT 10 WIS 13

Current challenge

Mordor: Hobbiton -> Rivendell (238/458 miles)

Water advice  Join the Circus!

Hi there, first congrats on the gains you've already made. Foot pain isn't fun. I would recommend the book "Every Woman's Guide to Foot Pain Relief" by Katy Bowman. It may give you some insight to healing. Beingp a nurse is such a tough job and I admire you for it. I can be hard on the body especially if your working weird hours. I should probably go do my introductions now. Thanks for being here.