Forums are back in action! ×

I'm a nerdfit newbie but have actually been taking steps to get healthier (and skinnier) for about a year. I've lost about 40 pounds since last August, and spent 3 weeks in June hiking 180 miles of the Long Trail in Vermont.  This was a HUGE accomplishment because I'm not exactly naturally athletic. I have a lot of dedication and determination though.

I accomplished my weight loss through lots of dietary changes (portion size control, cutting out all fast food/junk food) and a lot of hiking and walking.

Post my trip I lost my motivation for a bit. It was hard not to have a big goal to train for, so despite having horrible knees (they dislocate really easily) and being an insanely slow runner (it takes me about 17 minutes to walk/run a mile), I signed up for a charity 5K on 10/3.

We also have been working on cutting processed food completely from our diet. I'm not a Paleo person though, we actually eat very little meat.  So when I say we, my household consist of me, my husband, an 18 year old art student we mentor (who eats lots of steak when we aren't home), and 3 cats.

Fitness wise I've also dabbled in yoga and weight lifting.

On other fronts I'm a LARPer.. a really hard core LARPer who has been attending the same system for 15 years (yea I'm old :P) and if I'm not actually at an event every weekend I'm likely to be doing something related or at minimal with friends from there.

I'm into real food and try to avoid eating things with more than 4 ingredients. I'm working on cooking more and freezing things to make that easier.

I'm a minimalist in terms of possessions.

We love to travel (and leave for Ireland on 9/8).

I like taking photos (but am by no means an technical expert.

We don't have cable but I get into watching series via the wonder of netflix-- True Blood, Sons of Anarchy, Orange is the New Black, Dexter, Etc...