Forums are back in action! ×

And the Walls Came Crashing Down...

Hey all!

I'm a 23-year-old newly married Bostonian.  My husband is an IT guy, and I'm a radar systems engineer.  Together we make a great big bundle of nerdy, geeky, Japan-obsessed, bookwormy awesomeness!

Since I left home to seek my fortune (aka went to college), I've been steadily losing fat (if not always weight) and getting curvier (in a good way - smaller waist!).  The only problem?  I haven't really been getting any healthier (or stronger), and any weight loss was bare minimum.  The reasons that I've been losing for so long are that 1) my parents no longer controlled my food, and my budget didn't allow for much more than straight breakfast, lunch, dinner, 2) I had easier access to a gym (which I barely used), and 3) the college lifestyle kept me moving around.  Now that I have a cushy desk job, a lot of those benefits have been taken away, and I didn't work hard to capitalize on them at any rate.  Even though I still don't keep snacks around the house (just not something I do), our budget allows for a lot of eating out, and I my sedentary job makes it so I have to schedule movement into my day.

Over the past year (since I graduated and got a job), I've realized these things and tried to turn myself around (mostly using the gym here at work).  At first, I was doing well - cooking meals at home, bagged lunches, consistent workouts.  Me and the hubby even used a Groupon to kickstart a passionate love for rock climbing and went at least once a week!  I had lost a good 10 lbs in a few months (a record for me), was increasing weight in the gym, and improving my difficulty level in climbing.