Forums are back in action! ×

What to do when your lower back hurts

I need to preface this thread stating that I am not a PT or an MD. I have zero qualifications in the field os S&C, kinesiology, or sports medicine. I am a meathead repiratory therapist that works in an inpatient rehab hospital with a lot of resources in PT. I've also lived most of my adult life wih the back of a 90 year old osteoporotic woman, or so I thought. I've done a lot of work on myself getting myself stronger and bulletproofing my back has been priority number one. Here is a compilation of mobility and flexibility drills that have gotten myself, some of my family, and several of the members here walking, lifting, and living better and pain free.

If you have diagnosed spinal pathology, ie herniated discs, hardware, scoliosis, etc then this post is not for you. No degree of mobility work will change what your bones are doing and you should consult a qualified physician or PT.

"My low back hurts after deadlifting and squatting," or "My low back hurts when I've sat for a while and stand up."

This pain most likely comes from a tight iliopsoas. The psoas inserts at the lumber vertebrae and the greater trochanter of the femur, while the iliacus inserts in the anterior face of the iliac crest and descends to join the psoas, becoming the iliopsoas. It becomes hypertonic and contracted from frequent sitting. This also causes the glutes to become inactive, thus losing the ability to counteract the hip flexion of the ilipsoas, potentially drawing you into anterior pelvic tilt. When the iliopsoas gets strained and even more contracted it compresses the lumber spine causing a generalized lower back pain.

The drills to help alleviated a tight iliopsoas:

Lie on a bed, couch, or table with one leg hanging down to the floor.

Pull the hanging foot back and anchor your toes to the floor putting a stretch on your quad.

Palpate your iliac crest and move just medial of it.