Forums are back in action! ×

Calling Canadian Nerds!

Well, more specifically Vancouver Nerds

My partner and I have been discussing moving out to Canada in the past and it's something we want to do after visiting Vancouver and Toronto it;s become a bit more of a reality.

However, it's not something we can do tomorrow and need to put a few things in place and answer a few questions:

I work in IT in a tech support role and would like to continue with the role, but what sort of disciplines are in demand?

My partner is a solicitor in the UK but also has excellent language skills, she;s not too fussed about staying in the legal side of things but would like to become a languages teacher, what;s the provision for that?

We're getting married in August (hence the fitness drive from me, which I intend to keep up!) and want to clear off a lot of debt we've got outstanding from that so we'd not be looking to try and move for another couple of years so I'd like to start preparation now so that we can be in a position to do the forms and work towards getting jobs out there!

Can anyone who lives In Canada help, or has anyone made the move already and can fil me in on the details, how you did it and how you found the transition?

Incidentally we're both from the UK

Oh dear, you really need to consult the proper authorities for that, and that would be Citizenship and Immigration Canada, here: http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/index-can.asp

As for the language teaching bit, be careful. You need a valid certification to work in the public service, so you better check if her credentials are valid here (high chance they are not, unfortunately). As for the private sector, well, I'm a language teacher myself, and the pay is miserable. Stick to the law, it pays better, I'm sure.

Current form: Chubby House Cat (lvl4)

Weight objective: 20%

S. 4 P. 6 E. 4 C. 7 I. 8 A. 4 L. 5

Battle log

Current Challenge

Handy linky.

Cheers Rapier,