Forums are back in action! ×

Improving my Power to Weight Ratio

Hey everyone.  My name is Reuben, and I'd like to join the rebellion.

I'm in my early 30's, father of two great kids, and I'm fat. I drive a desk for a living, so it's very easy to put on the pounds. I have never really given much thought to what I eat, I just eat what I like and eat until I'm full. I have done mail order "super diets" before and lost a bunch of weight - but as soon as I go back to my "normal" eating habits the weight creeps back on.  One of my problems is I LOVE good food, and if you put it in front of me, I'll eat it until I'm stuffed.  I am determined to make a lifestyle change this time, a permanent change to how much I eat and how I feel about myself. I am a very active person trapped in a couch potato's body.

Everything I love to do is active and outdoors, every day I sit inside at a desk... This is my challenge. I have always been an adventurous person who loves to experience new things, especially in the great outdoors. Camping, Hiking, Bicycling, Canoeing/Kayaking, Sailing - you name it. I am also very much into motorcycling - all types - but mainly high performance riding on the track (dirt or road course). ALL of these activities require a certain level of fitness. I hate that when a opportunity presents itself I can't just go for it 100% because I'm out of shape. I am doing this for myself first, and for my kids and family as a close second. My kids also love all of the above, and I'm a fairly young dad - they deserve to have me right there along side them, cheering them on every step of the way. I want to set a good example for them.